Going Downhill

jwroubaix

Jun 6, 2007
I've been cycling for 7 years, nothing crazy just 15-20 miles a ride 2-3 times per week. I just got a new all carbon bike with deep dish aero wheels. Ever since I upgraded bikes i'm much more scared with descents down canyon roads. I don't know if it's the wheels, the bigger frame, or maybe just the lighter bike going faster but i've been really frightened. What can I do to make me feel safer while going downhill?

Frankly, I enjoy more the uphill climb than the downhill especially when the road is winding or zigzagging. Aside, the uphill is like a challenge posed to you by no one but nature so it is you against nature. With the downhill ride, it is fun since you don't exert effort anymore, like a piece of reward that you get after climbing. But with my age now at past 50, I don't think I still could ride in that road that I used to test my strength with its steep uphill climb. The last time I was there was more than 5 years, I wasn't able to finish the climb and just walked my way uphill.

Are you actually going faster downhill? Does the new bike put you in a more aero position?

The feeling has nothing to do with the bike being carbon. My guess is that your new bike has a different geometry and handling characteristics; like faster handling. This can make it feel twitchy on a descent.

The deep front wheel coupled with faster handling can magnify the feeling of crosswinds. Is it a full carbon wheel? I've heard that the braking is not as strong as aluminum wheels, which can add a bit of drama as well.

The solutions are simple either ride different routes, descend slower or keep practicing your descents.

They are not full carbon rims. They are carbon but have they the aluminum braking surface. When you say practicing descents, what things should I be working on?