Looking to buy a mountain bike under $600

sfultz10

May 11, 2007
Hi everyone,

I have been riding road for awhile and now I am looking to expand a little bit. I am a college student and the bike would be used for anything from commuting to places around campus to some moderate trail riding. I want it to be able to handle abuse off the road but still be able to cruise well on the road. I know a lot of people will say whichever feels and fits the best, which is true and I plan to try many, but I want opinions on what I should try and what I should be looking for. Which mountain bike under $600 dollars would give me the most bang for my buck based on the riding that I have described?

sfultz10 said:
Hi everyone,

I have been riding road for awhile and now I am looking to expand a little bit. I am a college student and the bike would be used for anything from commuting to places around campus to some moderate trail riding. I want it to be able to handle abuse off the road but still be able to cruise well on the road. I know a lot of people will say whichever feels and fits the best, which is true and I plan to try many, but I want opinions on what I should try and what I should be looking for. Which mountain bike under $600 dollars would give me the most bang for my buck based on the riding that I have described?
Specialized Rockhopper. I just bought one yesterday and looged about 10 miles of dirt road and trail riding on it already. Great ride at a great price - about $500 US.

I am particularly looking at the rockhopper and the trek 4500, have anyone else had any experience with these two or another in their price range?

sfultz10 said:
I am particularly looking at the rockhopper and the trek 4500, have anyone else had any experience with these two or another in their price range?
Well, in addition to the 2006 Rockhopper that I purchased on Friday I purchased a 2007 Trek 4500 for my son yesterday. Here are my thoughts on both: