Need help repairing BCA Comet

Countrybiking

Oct 26, 2023
West Virginia
Hello I am new to the bike game. I have a few bikes that need repair with this one in particular I don’t even know where to start. Something I noticed, the chain doesn’t catch when u are pedaling. I am no stranger for removing chains but this one is odd and I can’t find any information on it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
image.jpg

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    699.7 KB · Views: 7
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    549.9 KB · Views: 6
What do you mean? When you pedal, the bike doesn't go forward? The chain gets off? It doesn't shift?

Hey, it sounds like you're having some trouble with your bike. If the chain's coming off or it's not shifting properly, it could affect your performance. Have you checked the derailleur alignment or lubricated the chain? It's all about those small adjustments that enhance your bike's performance. Let's get you back in the race!

Sure, I'd be happy to help you out with your bike chain issue! It sounds like you're dealing with a chain tension problem, which can prevent the chain from properly engaging with the sprockets while pedaling.

First, check to see if the derailleur is aligned correctly and if the limit screws are set properly. If the derailleur is misaligned or the limit screws are too loose, it can cause the chain to sag and not catch properly.

Another possible issue could be a worn-out chain or sprockets. Over time, chains and sprockets can wear down and become stretched, which can lead to poor shifting and engagement. If this is the case, you may need to replace the chain and/or sprockets.

Lastly, make sure that the chain is clean and well-lubricated. A dirty or dry chain can cause poor engagement and difficulty shifting.

I hope this helps! Let me know if you have any further questions or if there's anything else I can do to assist you.