Pain behind left knee

MaggieMay

Sep 13, 2004
First of all, I have to admit that I'm a newbie. I've only been riding my new
Road bike for the past month. I wrode a mountain bike 12 months before that. I'm enjoying the Road bike sooo much. Lately, when riding more than 40kms I get a pain behind my left knee. The right leg is fine. I shall be buying cleats/shoes next week and I hope this may help my problem. I have also been stretching before riding but this doesn't seem to make any difference. Is there anyone else out there who has the same kind of pain or has any advice as to what it may be. :rolleyes:

I've been experiencing the same pain after my last ride - seems like muscle growth pains to me. Mine feels like the LCL - probably sore from so much use.

You may need to be very careful about your seat height. Myself I found knee stress is prevented if your seat is at a level whereby your leg falls slightly short of full extension on the downstroke. Check you're not overstretching.
It also sounds like you may be overtraining through beginner enthusiasm. The knees need to be rested in between sessions or they may get overtaxed.. Myself I found that cycling every day gave me knee aches so I intensified my training and did less sessions per week but more intense.
To strengthen your knees, leg extensions are good if you have a machine in the gym. Leg curls also help balance out your leg muscles so your quads don't create an imbalance over the leg bicep.
Don't try and ignore or push through a warning pain as you could end up with a chronic injury and lose training time as a result. If you can ride pain free that's O.K. but if the pedal motion causes you any pain, stop and treat the problem.

MaggieMay said: