Trying to decide on a Trek

trav1345

Sep 1, 2010
Hi! I'm very new to road cycling, I've been riding a mtb for a long time though. I want to get my first road bike, and I want to support my only LBS. My LBS is a trek dealer so naturally I will be getting a Trek. I'm trying to decide between the 1.1 and 1.2, I want to know if the upgraded components and carbon fork will be worth the extra money. I'm pretty young so I don't have a lot of money, if I get the 1.1 I will have more money for things like clothes, lights, etc... but if I get the 1.2 I won't have much money leftover. Thanks for your help, I appreciate it!

I bought a Trek 1.1 about a month ago and I love it. However, that being said, I wish I had done more research. To be fair, I looked at a good amount of bikes online, and wanted to stay under $700 because I have some much more important expenses coming up and I don't have a lot of excess cash. Since I bought it, I have done quite a bit of riding and really enjoy it. I can't help but wonder how much happier I would be if I had spent a couple hundred extra to get out of the mega-entry level segment and upgrade to better components. I've never ridden a $3000 bike, so I don't know what I'm missing. But, I have had no issues with my bike other than looking to upgrade the seat at some point. The 1.1 is very lightweight and seems to be built very solidly.

My advise would be to ride both and see which one feels more solid. I have never ridden a carbon fork but understand it makes a huge difference in the vibration felt in the handlebars. If you think it will get used a lot, you would probably be well served to spend a little extra for added quality and comfort.

Thanks for the reply that's very helpful! I realize that I should of put this in the other topic section so I will move it.

trav1345 said: