Where to start?

ellenalesa

Mar 19, 2011
Back in 2002 or so I got a Trek hybrid. It wasn't fitted for me properly, but I didn't know that at the time. As I started riding more, I started noticing that I had to reach forward and I feel the weight in my hands/wrists.

I recently dropped it off at the bike shop (not where I bought it!) and they are going to see if they can get new handlebars/headset or something to make it work for now.

I want to get a bike that fits me properly. I've been reading some of the posts here and was wondering if there was a sticky or a link to info on what to look for in a bike.

I think I want a hybrid so I can go on paths if I need to. I want to spend as little money as possible. I wouldn't mind a used bike, as long as it fits. My intention is to ride, get in better shape, and then buy a better bike next year.

I have had more than one person tell me that a decent bike starts at about $1200. Is that really true? I'm pretty new to this. I rode several times a week back in 2002, averaged about 15 miles a day, and then life got busy. I don't need top of the line stuff, but I do want to get a decent bike.

I saw a post that said something about getting at least 105 level components. I have no idea what that means.

Can anyone recommend some resources so I can educate myself before I make another mistake?

Thanks.

Ellen