MTB Pedals on Road Bike??

82zman

Mar 27, 2006
I am a newbie. I have been using Shimano MTB 520 (380G) Pedals on my Trek 1500 for 9 months. They work great and are convienent to clip in/out on either side. Is there any advantage going to a road pedal? I ride for fitness only but maintain a competitive mind set while riding. Ride about 100 miles a week.

82zman said:
Is there any advantage going to a road pedal?
To strictly answer your question, true road pedals are more aerodynamic and have a larger platform.

Having said that, many road bike riders use MTB pedals and shoes because the pedals are dual sided, and the shoes/cleats are much easier to walk in.

I say stick with your current setup.

82zman said:
I am a newbie. I have been using Shimano MTB 520 (380G) Pedals on my Trek 1500 for 9 months. They work great and are convienent to clip in/out on either side. Is there any advantage going to a road pedal? I ride for fitness only but maintain a competitive mind set while riding. Ride about 100 miles a week.

This has been a common question on this forum and the consensus answer is ride what works for you. For most purposes, the lower weight of a road pedad/shoe combo is not worth the disadvantages of single-sided entry (for most road pedals), poor walkability and often higher cost.

My friends and I all have mtb pedals on our road bikes. The shoes have better grip when off the bike or waiting at the light. I also did it because I found an expensive pair of shoes that fits me well and I want to be able to use the same shoes when I ride on or off road.

I also ride with my camelbak on my road bike sometimes so maybe I'm strange.

It definitely makes roadies not like getting passed by me in group rides though.

82zman said: