Newbie help here please :)

obikanobis

Jun 18, 2010
Well I am just starting to get into the road cycling , and I am looking to get a pretty decent bike and can really use some direction in my decision and I figured I would come to the pro's
smile.gif
.. SO im looking for a nice road bike my max spending limit is 700 -1000$ I have found some pretty good deals online and I know one important thing is bike size I am 6ft 228lbs I have been looking at a few bikes from bikes-direct in the 700 dollar range but I just don't know if this is a good value I have been looking at the following bikes .. Also I have never built a bike b4 I am a hardcore do it yourself er but don't really know whats involved and if it is a really big undertaking ?

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...d_record_x.htm

it may be a horrible bike I really don't know much so dont make fun lol im a newbie but really am looking to do some hardcore runs 55- 110 miles I am in really really good shape just need to build up my endurance ... so please guys if you can throw me a bone here
smile.gif

Also I have went to a LBS was checking out the Giant Defy bikes I did get sized for the bike seems that I am a large , would someone also be able to point me to a good place to possibly buy a good used road bike?

thanks a lot in advance
Obi
smile.gif

As you said, this is your first bike, in that vein there is nothing wrong with the bike your looking at as a great starter bike. The reason you don't spend a lot of money on your first bike is because most people start out with good intentions on riding A LOT, but then fail to do so after a few months, then the bike becomes garage art, and there's nothing worse then a $3,500+ dust collector.

Personally I think you should go to an LBS and try to find a bike, or at least make sure the bike you order by mail will fit by trying various sizes at an LBS.