Newbie overtraining?

V

Victor

I've been cycling in Central Park here in New York for about 18 months now wondering if I am
overtraining.

My stats:

Age 53 Ht 5' 11" Weight 180 lbs

Total Weeks 18 26 Miles/Wk Average Total Time about 32 Hours Average distance 19.5 Miles Average
Speed 17.7

Off season weather was brutal in January so I missed a few weeks. Now that Spring is here I want to
increase my training as well as loose some weight. I was weight training more during the winter
months. I try to cycle every other day.

Any comments or suggestions?

victor wrote:

> I've been cycling in Central Park here in New York for about 18 months now wondering if I am
> overtraining.
>
> My stats:
>
> Age 53 Ht 5' 11" Weight 180 lbs
>
> Total Weeks 18 26 Miles/Wk Average Total Time about 32 Hours Average distance 19.5 Miles Average
> Speed 17.7
>
> Off season weather was brutal in January so I missed a few weeks. Now that Spring is here I want
> to increase my training as well as loose some weight. I was weight training more during the winter
> months. I try to cycle every other day.
>
> Any comments or suggestions?

What are you training for?

Steve

--
Mark & Steven Bornfeld DDS
Brooklyn, NY
718-258-5001
http://www.dentaltwins.com

"victor" <vcarnuccio @mindspring.com> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> I've been cycling in Central Park here in New York for about 18 months now wondering if I am
> overtraining.
>
> My stats:
>
>
> Total Weeks 18 26 Miles/Wk Average Total Time about 32 Hours Average distance 19.5 Miles Average
> Speed 17.7
>
> Off season weather was brutal in January so I missed a few weeks. Now that Spring is here I want
> to increase my training as well as loose some weight. I was weight training more during the winter
>
>

I'd go crazy if I had to train in a big city like that. I'm a farmer! I did a 58 mile ride today and
saw maybe 20 cars (and none with drivers talking on cell phones!) Sweet!