Saddle soreness

Sublime99

Jul 25, 2005
I am a fairly new rider and i have a road bike that was measured by a local bike shop. However i had to set the saddly height and handle bar height. When i ride i have padded shorts and my saddle rest right in between the jewels and the a-hole........... lets just call it the gooch. I get really sore after a short 20 mile ride and can hardly stand to ride the next day. What is the proper postion for me to sit in, should it be further back on my butt or is this just someting you have to endure? I have been riding for a couple 5 months and have endured it thus far, but i am getting discouraged and frustrated.

Also when i ride i rest my hands on the hoods and they go numb. I want to focus on a comfortable saddle first then worry about the numbess. I feel as if i am putting alot of weight on my hands when i ride.

The seat may be a little to high. The seat may also be the cause of the sore hands because it's too high and has you bending more than you need. The hands could also be the height of your bars, but start with the seat since it's so easy. Try lowering a cm at a time and remember not to go to low because you'll change your leg extension to much.

tfstrum said:
The seat may be a little to high. The seat may also be the cause of the sore hands because it's too high and has you bending more than you need. The hands could also be the height of your bars, but start with the seat since it's so easy. Try lowering a cm at a time and remember not to go to low because you'll change your leg extension to much.

I will try that and let you know the outcome, where should the pressure be when sitting in the saddle?

Soreness can also be caused by the tilt of the saddle. If you have the nose too high it will cause soreness in the "gooch." If too low it will rock your hips too far forward.

Also, if you wear underware under the shorts, the seams will also cause soreness.