use 8-sp DuraAce RD with ultegra 9?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by ThrillBilly, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. ThrillBilly

    ThrillBilly New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a 04 ultegra 9-speed setup.

    a friend has an unused 8-sp Dura-Ace rear derail (RD-7402)
    that i want to install, IF it will work with my 9-sp setup.

    will the 8-sp 7402 RD shift correctly with the 9-sp brifters?

    yea, or nay ???

    thanks in advance.
     
    Tags:


  2. Fat Hack

    Fat Hack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait 'til the mechanics respond, but my understanding is that it won't.

    When they went to 9 speed, Shimano narrowed the chain, and therefore (obviously), narrowed the spacing.

    But I've been wrong before :p
     
  3. boudreaux

    boudreaux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the derailer nor the chain with have nothing to do with with it . However the pre 9 speed DA shifters and RD do haave different pull and throw ratios that make them incompatible with other shimano index stuff.
     
  4. Fat Hack

    Fat Hack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah well, close enough:)
     
  5. boudreaux

    boudreaux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 8 speed DA RD has an incompatible throw ratio for the shifters. Check Sheldon Browns Dura Ace article at www.harriscyclery.com for a posssivble alternate cable mount solution.
     
  6. boudreaux

    boudreaux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the only 'close' part was that it doesn't work. That could have been the answer rather than the hooey.
     
  7. Fat Hack

    Fat Hack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just "hooey" and no "BS"?

    does that mean I'm improving? :p
     
  8. ThrillBilly

    ThrillBilly New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    boudreaux, S-Brown is the 1st place i always check, and had already read the cable setup info on his site.

    but, it was still unclear to me if the setup was compatable. :confused:

    my best guess is that it is LESS THAN OPTIMUM at best, and INcompat at worst.
     
  9. boudreaux

    boudreaux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    0
    The way I read it is that it's incompatible.The alternate cable mount does not solve the problem.
     
Loading...
Loading...