When to push

ccorrick

Dec 9, 2003
I thought I might see what everyone here think about this.

At 27 I've just started back cycling. 4 years ago I was riding comfortably with CAT 3s and on a hilly course more than comforably. With a resting hr of about 48 and a max hr of 220. Ok, that's just a frame of reference of where I WAS. Now, however I'm starting all over. In mid November I caught some reruns of the Tour and I started missing riding so much I could no longer stand it. I worked out with my boss a way to come into work earlier so I can get off earlier to go ride. At the first of December I started riding with a passion. Can't believe I ever stopped!!!

All that brings me around to my question. I have maybe 600 or 700 miles on me right now. I've been riding as weather permits and on the trainer. Nothing really structured, just getting everything back in working order. Last ride was 2 nights ago and everything FINALLY clicked into place. The saddle actually felt good, no pains anywhere, and I FELT like I could have really ridden hard. I'm leery of that however, and this is where the question comes in.

When should I start to push it? How long do I need to work on core strength to avoid injury? Any advise on a training program to look into? I'd like to start back racing locally this summer, is that going to happen, or will I need a whole season to get everything back?
For reference my resting hr is about 60 now, but that's down from what it was a month ago. Don't have a clue what I could max it out at now or what my VO2 max is. I feel my body responding (don't have a hr monitor yet) but, should I worry about documenting yet? At this point is it even worth worrying about?